Executive Board

Rym Ayadi

EMEA Founder and President

Prof. Rym Ayadi is Professor of International Business and Finance, Director of the International Research Centre on Cooperative Finance (IRCCF) at HEC Montreal and Honorary Professor at CASS Business School at the City University in London. 

She is Board Member of the Alphonse and Dorimène Desjardins Institute for Cooperatives at HEC Montreal. She is Founder and Scientific Director of the Euro-Mediterranean Network for Economic Studies (EMNES) and Senior Research Fellow at the Euro-Mediterranean University (EMUNI).

She is expert member of several high-level expert groups in the European Commission (Financial Services Users Group (FSUG)), external advisor to the European Parliament (Economic and Financial Committee and Committee on Foreign Affairs), Mediterranean Assembly of the Mediterranean and the Union for the Mediterranean and invited expert in international organisations.

Rym’s fields of expertise include international financial systems, financial markets and institutions, global financial regulation and governance and socio-economic development and foresight in economies in transition.

She was the Director of the Alphonse and Dorimène Desjardins Institute for Cooperatives of HEC Montreal (from 2014 to 2017) and Senior Research Fellow and Head of Research of the Financial Institutions Unit at the Centre for European Policy Studies (CEPS) (from 2001 to 2014). She served as Scientific Director of the International Research Network on the Prospective Analysis in the Mediterranean (MEDPRO – Mediterranean Prospects Research Network) (from 2009 to 2013).

Rym holds a Ph.D in Economics at the University of Paris Dauphine in France.

For more information please visit : www.rymayadi.com


Carlo Sessa

Board Member and Vice President

Carlo SESSA is Research Director and former President of ISIS – Institute of Studies for the Integration of Systems of Rome. Before joining ISIS in 1983, he has conducted research at NYU, where he worked with Nobel Prize winner Wassily Leontieff. He was the Coordinator of several EU research projects, in the 5th, 6th and 7th Framework Programmes, in the fields of transport, urban issues and environment. In this context, he organised several participatory foresight exercises, involving panels of experts and citizens.


Pantelis Capros

Board Member

Prof. Pantelis Capros heads the E3MLab of ICCS. He is a Professor of Energy Economics and Operation Research at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering of National Technical University of Athens. He has built and used a variety of large-scale mathematical models and has more than 20 years professional experience of consultancy in the domain of energy and economic policy.

For the MEDPRO project, E3MLAB will use and apply the GEM-E3 general equilibrium model. In particular, the model version developed already for the integrated FP6 research project CIRCE studying impacts of climate change on the Mediterranean economic and ecological system.


Consuelo Varela Ortega

Board Member

Professor of Agricultural and Natural Resource Economics. She is also member of the recently created Research Centre for the Management of Agricultural and Environmental Risk (CEIGRAM). She has been involved, during the past 25 years in research in Spanish, European Union and International networks in the fields of agricultural policy and the environment, water resources management and institutions. Professor Varela-Ortega is the country representative for Spain in the International Association of Agricultural Economists (IAAE) and has taken part in the scientific committee and advisory panels of several international institutions, such as the Global and National Food and Water System for the CGIAR Challenge Program on Water and Food and the CIRAD (International center for agricultural development research) in France.